harrisburg school board

The Harrisburg School Board has been selected as the 2023 ASBSD School Board Award of Excellence recipient for providing the leadership necessary to improve achievement for all students and exemplifying the traits of an effective school board. 

The School Board Award of Excellence honors a South Dakota public school board that consistently demonstrates outstanding leadership to enhance the achievement of all students. To earn the award a school board must demonstrate governance leadership in promoting excellence in public education.

Harrisburg School Board Members, which include Chairperson Linda Heerde, Vice Chairperson Jay Hutton, Lisa Groon, Mike Knudson and Terra Vennard, received the award during the 2023 ASBSD-SASD Convention in Sioux Falls earlier this month. The board received a recognition plaque and a $1,000 cash award, which was generously provided by BankWest, for being selected. 

While facing unprecedented growth and rapidly changing student demographics, the Harrisburg School Board ensured all students in the district were provided viable and accessible curriculum opportunities. 

The board strives for the district to meet every student where they are in their academic journey, retain a high percentage of staff members by creating a supportive culture and environment, continue to strengthen community relations, and foster collaborative relationships with all stakeholders in the school district.

“Harrisburg School Board members exemplify what a great board does by always putting the best interests of their students first,” ASBSD Executive Director Dr. Douglas R. Wermedal said.

“Their leadership and commitment to helping students thrive, while also supporting a great culture for staff members and maintaining strong relationships in their community, makes them a more than worthy recipient of the award and we’re thrilled to be able to honor them.”

ASBSD is a private, no-profit association representing more than 850 South Dakota school board members, the 148 school districts they govern and the students they serve. Our vision is leadership to achieve excellence for South Dakota public education through a mission of partnering, advocating and leading.

Photo of Harrisburg School Board Members (from left to right) Linda Heerde, Mike Knudson, Lisa Groon, Jay Hutton and Terra Vennard.